Digital Transformation Project in the
Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)


CARICOM IMPACS has been engaged as a key implementation partner by the World Bank to provide support to the Cyber component of the Caribbean Digital Transformation Programme. The program will, among other things, increase access to digital services, technologies and skills by governments, businesses and individuals in the participating Eastern Caribbean countries. The project comprises three components that address key bottlenecks and harness opportunities to develop the Eastern Caribbean Digital Economy as a driver of growth, job creation and improved service delivery:
1. Digital Enabling Environment
2. Digital Government Infrastructure, Platforms and Services
3. Digital Scales and Technology Adoption

Objectives and Impact

CARICOM IMPACS will provide technical leadership and coordination for a key sub-component managed by the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Secretariat, under component one (1) i.e. Cybersecurity, Data Protection and Privacy: Legal and Regulatory Environment, Institutions and Capacity.

This project sub-component aims to build trust in online transactions and strengthen the security and resilience of digital infrastructure and systems across the region. It will promote cybersecurity awareness and capacity building as well as create an enabling environment and institutions needed to protect the public and private sector from cyber vulnerabilities. The project will utilize a combination regional and national level approaches to share knowledge, resources and respond to shared threats and facilitate collaboration with the national level computer emergency response teams (CERTs). The subcomponent will also include support to develop harmonized data protection and privacy frameworks across the region to ensure a unified space for investment and deployment of data driven services.


The project is in the initial stages of development and will involve engagement of key stakeholders with the beneficiary States- Dominica, Grenada, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.